Ayurvedic science is based on six ancient philosophies of life that have their origins in the Vedas. The Vedas are large bodies of literature written in sanskrit language. The texts consist of material, religious and spiritual knowledge. The exact time in which these texts are believed to have been written is unclear however the Vedas where traditionally expressed verbally from teacher to student in the form of 'sutras' or 'threads' of wisdom dating as far back as 5000 years. These sutra where arranged in the form of poetry and memorised by the students.

Shad means ‘six’ and Darshana means ‘to see’, the six philosophies are organised systems in that enable us to see the world and orientate with reality to acquire understanding. The six philosophies are Samkhya, Nyaya, Vaisheshika, Mimamsa, Yoga and Vedanta.

Samkhya, Nyaya and Vaisheshika deal mainly with our outer reality and concentrate on subjects associated with creation, logic, reasoning, cause and effect and means of attaining correct knowledge.

Mimamsa, Yoga and Vedanta pertain to our inner reality as a means of understanding how to best exist within our outer reality. These philosophies shed light on ways of conducting ourselves to reduce unnecessary pain and suffering and ultimately assisting us to evolve into higher levels of being and realizing our inner-most nature.

  • Samkhya Founded by Kapila
  • Nyaya Founded by Guatama
  • Vaisheshika Founded by Kanada
  • Mimamsa Founded by Jaimin
  • Yoga Founded by Patanjali
  • Vedanta Founded by Badarayana