Samhkya philosophy is part of the six ancient philosophies relating to the manifestation and interaction of the non-physical and physical universe. According to this philosophy the universe is divided into two realities, purusha (pure consciousness) and prakrti (manifest nature). A living being is considered as the state in which parusha and prakruti are bound together. This coming together according to Samkhya scholars gives rise to the qualities of individual intelligence, ego, qualities of the mind, and the various permutations of senses, feelings, actions and elements. Samkhya philosophy acts as one the primary foundations of understanding the creation of life and genetic tendencies of living beings

Pure Consciousness Purusha             Manifest nature Prakrti

Universal field of intelligence Mahat

Individual intelligence Buddhi

Ahamkara Ego

Sattva Creative potential                 

Rajas Expression of potential                    

Tamas What is expressed

Mind  - Buddhi (Higher intelligence/Discernment) Chitta (memory, recal, reasoning), Ahankara (Ego)            

Sense Faculties (Indriyas) - Ears (Sound), Skin (Touch), Eyes (Light), Tongue (Taste), Nose (Smell)  

Organs of action (Karmenindriyas)  - Mouth (Speech), Hand (Grasping), Feet (Walking), Sex organs (Procreation), Excretory organs (Elimanation)

Subtle elements (Tanmatra) - Sound, Touch, Vision, Taste, Smell 

Gross Elements (Mahabhoutas) - Space, Air, Fire, Water Earth